NBA Playoffs

Western Conference

Eastern Conference

Updated May 19, 2024

Recent Changes

No recent activity.

NBA Playoff Seeding Rules

This year, the NBA has increased the number of teams that make the NBA playoffs from 16 to 20. The top 6 seeds from both the Eastern and Western Conferences will be ranked based off of their record. The teams ranked from 7 through 10 will then have play-in games for the final 2 seeds. If teams have the same record, there is a series of tiebreakers which determine who receives the higher seed.


  1. Head to head results
  2. Division champion receives higher seed
  3. Place in division
  4. Win-loss percentage against all conference opponents

Play-in Game Format

The NBA has updated their playoff format to include play-in games for the 7th and 8th seed. The 7th ranked team will face the 8th ranked team and the winner of that game will receive the 7th seed. The 9th and 10th ranked teams will also have a play-in game. The winner of the 9th and 10th ranked game will then play the loser of the 7th and 8th teams to determine the 8th and final spot of the NBA playoffs. The rest of the playoffs will be played in the NBA’s normal playoff format.